Home Full Form NCR Full Form: What Is NCR?

NCR Full Form: What Is NCR?


NCR Full Form: National Capital Region (NCR) is a planning region in India centred on Delhi’s National Capital Territory (NCT).

It includes Delhi and numerous districts from the states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, and Rajasthan that surround it.

The NCR and its affiliated National Capital Region Planning Board were established in 1985 to plan the region’s development and provide coordinated land-use management and infrastructure development rules.

Delhi, Faridabad, Ghaziabad, Gurugram, and Noida are some of the most important cities in the NCR.

The NCR is a rural-urban region with about 46,069,000 people and a 62.6 percent urbanisation rate.

NCR Full Form and  NCR Features Ecologically

The NCR features ecologically vulnerable areas such as the Aravalli ridge, woods, wildlife and bird sanctuaries, in addition to cities and towns.

In 2015–16, the Delhi Extended Urban Agglomeration, part of the NCR, had a GDP of $370 billion (measured in terms of GDP PPP)


The National Capital Region Planning Board Act of 1985 established the National Capital Region (NCR Full Form) and its planning board.

The NCR was defined as the entire city of Delhi, as well as the Haryana districts of Gurgaon, Faridabad, and Sonipat, Rohtak (then including Jhajjar tehsil), and the Rewari Tehsil in Mahendragarh district; and the Uttar Pradesh districts of Bulandshahr, Muzaffarnagar, Meerut (then including Baghpat tehsil), and Ghazi

The NCR had a boundary in 1985 that comprised 34,144 square kilometres (13,183 sq mi).

Prior to the formation of the NCR, the 1962 Master Plan for Delhi outlined an area known as the Delhi Metropolitan Area (DMA). The DMA was classified as the National Capital Territory and the ring cities of Ghaziabad, Faridabad, Ballabhgarh, Gurgaon, Bahadurgarh, and Loni as well as some rural areas, with a population of just less than 2.1 million in 1951.

The next “Master Plan for Delhi,” adopted in August 1990, expanded the DMA to include Noida, Bahadurgarh, and the then-proposed township of Kundli, resulting in a total size of 3,182 km2.

Gautam Budh Nagar was formed in 1997 when the previous NCR districts of Ghaziabad and Bulandshahr merged to become Gautam Budh Nagar. The headquarters of the new district was established at Noida. Baghpat district was formed in 1997 from the Baghpat tehsil of Meerut district.

In July 2013, the NCR was enlarged to include three additional districts: Haryana’s Bhiwani and Mahendragarh and Rajasthan’s Bharatpur. This increased the number of districts in the NCR to 19 (outside the Delhi NCT), bringing the total NCR area to 45,887 km2. In 2016, the district of Charkhi Dadri was detached from the district of Bhiwani.

On June 9, 2015, the Indian government approved the addition of three more districts to the NCR: Jind, Panipat, and Karnal in Haryana, and Muzaffarnagar in Uttar Pradesh.

Covering a total area of 50,566 km2,

In December 2017, the Shamli district of Uttar Pradesh was added to the NCR.

[The NCR, excluding the 11 districts of Delhi, has a total of 24 districts as of 2021.

Proposed additions

On January 9, 2018, the Uttar Pradesh government formally proposed expanding the NCR to include the districts of Aligarh, Bijnor, Hathras, and Mathura.

It also wants the district of Agra to be included in the NCR. Punjab is also pressuring Patiala and Mohali to join NCR. Rajasthan’s outskirts, such as Bhadra, are also part of the Future Extension plans.

Districts that make up the components

The National Capital Region (NCR) of India is made up of 24 districts in three neighbouring states: Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, and Rajasthan, as well as the entire National Capital Territory of Delhi.

Planning for the region

More information: Aravalli’s Great Green Wall and Haryana’s Leopards

The National Capital Region Planning Board is the region’s planning body (NCRPB). The “Regional Plan 2001, National Capital Region,” adopted in 1988,

and the “Regional Plan 2021, National Capital Region,” approved in 2005, are the two regional plans it has issued. Transportation, telecommunications, power and water supply, trash and sewerage, education, health, the environment, housing, and the “counter magnet” areas were all included in the 2001 plan.

Social infrastructure, heritage, tourism, rural development, and disaster management issues were included in the 2021 plan.

Because industrial pollution accounts for 51% of pollution in the NCR, cars account for 27%, and crop burning accounts for 8%, there are proposals to build a 1,600 km long and 5 km broad buffer zone.

By planting 1.35 billion (135 crore) new native trees over ten years, the Great Green Wall of Aravalli green ecological corridor from Gujarat to Delhi will be connected to the Sivalik hill range.

The National Capital Region, which has a population of 40 to 50 million people, is without sewage networks in about 46% of its area. Sewage from these locations goes into stormwater drains, which empty into the Yamuna immediately.


This part is taken from the National Capital Region Transport Corporation’s website.

NCR Full Form National Capital Region Transport Corporation (NCRTC), a joint venture between the Indian government and the states of Haryana, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, and Delhi, is responsible for implementing the Regional Rapid Transit System (RRTS) project across the NCR, ensuring a balanced and sustainable urban development through improved connectivity and access.

In July 2013, the Union Cabinet approved the establishment of the NCRTC under the Companies Act, 1956, to design, develop, implement, finance, operate, and maintain a Regional Rapid Transit System (RRTS) in the NCR to provide comfortable and fast transit to NCR towns and meet the high growth in transportation demand.

As a result, NCRTC was formed on August 21, 2013. [30] In July 2016, Vinay Kumar Singh was named NCRTC’s first regular Managing Director.

The Planning Commission prioritised the following three RRTS Corridors for execution, out of the eight identified:

  • Delhi-Ghaziabad-Meerut
  • Delhi-Gurugram-SNB-Alwar
  • Delhi-Panipat

National Capital Region Central

The “Delhi Metropolitan Area” (DMA) was specified in the 2001 regional plan as Ghaziabad, Noida, Faridabad, Gurgaon, Kundli, and Sonipat. The territory was dubbed the “Central National Capital Region” (CNCR) in the 2021 plan, spanning around 2,000 km2 (770 sq mi) in addition to the NCT of Delhi’s 1,483 km2 (573 sq mi).

The CNCR population outside of Delhi was expected to be over 2.8 million in 2001, while Delhi’s population was 13.8 million, resulting in a total CNCR population of 16.6 million, according to the 2021 plan.

The most recent population estimates range from 25.7 to 26.5 million people as of 2016.

Magnets for use on the counter

The 1985 Function (sections 2. c and 8. f) empowers the NCRCB to choose districts outside of the NCR to act as counter magnets to develop them further.

2, 10 Counter-magnet cities can be created as alternative growth centres and entice migrants away from Delhi. : 121 The criteria for choosing counter magnet towns is that they should have established roots and growth potential,

121 and that they should not be religious, strategic, or environmental hotspots. [requires citation] When it comes to land, housing, and infrastructure development, the counter-magnet cities should be prioritised.

Also Read: