Home Full Form NDA Full Form: And Definition And All Details

NDA Full Form: And Definition And All Details


NDA Full Form: of The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) (IAST): Rya Janattrika Gahabadhana is an Indian broad political coalition led by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) (BJP).

It was established in 1998 and now has power over the Indian government and the governments of 18 Indian states.

Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee was the organization’s inaugural chairman. Former Deputy Prime Minister L. K. Advani took over as chairman in 2004 and remained until 2014, with Amit Shah taking office in 2014. From 1998 to 2004, the coalition was in power.

With a combined vote percentage of 38.5 percent in the 2014 general election, the alliance regained power.

NDA Full Form and Definition

On May 26, 2014, its leader Narendra Modi was sworn in as India’s Prime Minister. The coalition boosted its count to 353 seats in the 2019 general election, with a combined vote share of 45.43 percent.

In May 1998, the NDA was created as a coalition to run in the general elections. The NDA’s major goal was to establish an alliance against the Indian National Congress.

The BJP led the coalition, which included regional groups such as the Samta Party, the AIADMK, and the Shiv Sena. However, Shiv Sena left the alliance in 2019 to join the United Progressive Alliance, which Congress governs.

Shiv Sena was the only party in the coalition that shared the BJP’s Hindutva philosophy. With outside backing from the Telugu Desam Party, it secured a narrow majority after the election, allowing Atal Bihari Vajpayee to return as Prime Minister.

Because the AIADMK withdrew its backing, the administration disintegrated within a year. The NDA went on to win the 1999 elections with a greater majority after a few more regional parties. For the third time, Vajpayee was elected Prime Minister, this time for full five-year tenure.

The NDA announced elections six months ahead of schedule in early 2004. The campaign was centered on the phrase “India Shining,” which portrays the NDA administration as the driving force behind its rapid economic transformation.

However, the NDA was defeated in the Lok Sabha, garnering only 186 seats compared to 222 for the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance, with Manmohan Singh succeeding Vajpayee as Prime Minister. The NDA’s collapse, according to some, was due to a failure to reach out to the rural electorate.

Structure of the NDA

There is no institutional governing structure for the National Democratic Alliance, such as an executive board or politburo.

It has been up to individual party leaders to decide on subjects such as seat distribution in elections, ministry allocation, and problems discussed in Parliament.

Given the party’s differing beliefs, there have been several instances of dispute and split voting among allies.

George Fernandes, the NDA convener until 2008, was relieved of his duties due to illness and replaced by Sharad Yadav, the JD(U) political party’s national president.

On June 16, 2013, the JD(U) withdrew from the coalition, and Sharad Yadav resigned as NDA convener. Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu was named NDA convener.

In Bihar, the JD(U) formed the government with the aid of the BJP on July 27, 2017. After four years, JD(U) formally rejoined the NDA on August 19, 2017.

Also Read: