Home News India What Are BS-VI Norms? Types & its downfall

What Are BS-VI Norms? Types & its downfall


What Are BS-VI Norms? Types & its downfall: Hi, Friends Today I am going to share some interesting information on the topic of What Are BS-VI Norms? Types & its downfall.

Please go through the article and enjoy reading it.

What Are BS-VI Norms? Types & its downfall

The Meaning of BS-VI Norms

The Bharat Stage is called BS. Emission standards are laid down by the government to regulate the output of air pollutants from the internal chemical reaction between substance engines. The spark-ignition engine equipment, are motor vehicles.

The central government has the authority to act in a certain way that vehicle makers must manufacture, sell and register. Only Bharat Stage-VI (BS6) vehicles from the year April 1, 2020.

The first emission rules were introduced in India in the year 1991 for petrol. In the year of 1992 for diesel vehicles. Followed these, the catalytic converter became mandatory for petrol vehicles. This was petrol without added lead petrol. That was introduced in the market.

The Difference Between BS4 and BS6

Both BS-IV and BS-VI are unit emission rules. That set the maximum permissible levels for the pollutants that an automotive or a two-wheeler exhaust can emit. Compared to the Bharat Stage 4, Bharat Stage 6 emission standards are stricter. Whereas the makers use this variation to update their vehicles. With new options and safety standards. The biggest modification comes in the permissible emission norms.

What area unit BS-I, BS-II, BS-III, BS-IV, and also BS-VI emission norms?

The abbreviation Bharat Stage, as mentioned above, refers to ‘Bharat Stage’. It is prefixed to the repetition of a process of the actual emission norms. The primary rules with the soubriquet Asian nation 2000 were introduced in the year 2000.

With the second and third the repetition of a process being introduced in the years of 2001 and 2005. With the soubriquet Bharat Stage II (BS2) and Bharat Stage III (BS3), respectively.

The fourth repetition of a process, Bharat Stage IV, was introduced in the year 2017. Therefore the delay between the introduction of Bharat Stage 3 and Bharat Stage 4 resulted in fast-tracking. The Bharat Stage VI or Bharat Stage 6 emission rules rather than Bharat Stage V (BS5) rules.

Voice raised by the Supreme Court

On the year 29 April 1999, the Supreme Court of India ruled that all vehicles in the country had to meet Euro I. India 2000 rule by the year June 1, 1999.

Euro II would be mandatory in the National Capital Region that is NCR from the year April 2000. Carmakers were not prepared for this transition and in the following judgment. The implementation of Euro II was delayed.

In the year 2002, the government accepted the report that was submitted by the Mashelkar committee. Which proposed a road map for the rollout of Euro-based emission rules in India.

It also recommended a phased implementation of future rules. With the regulations being implemented in the major cities first. Extended to the rest of the country after a few years.

Based on the recommendations of the committee. The National Auto Fuel policy was also announced officially in the year 2003. The road map for the implementation of the Bharat Stage rules was laid out until the year 2010.

Policy & Guidelines for various Bharat Stages

The policy also created guidelines for auto fuels, reduction of pollution from older vehicles. The R&D for air quality data creation and also health administration.

The standards and the timeline for implementation are set by the Central Pollution Control Board. Under the Ministry of Environment, Forest, and also Climate Change.

Since the year October 2010, Bharat Stage that is BS) III rules were enforced across the country. Bharat Stage-IV emission rules were put in place in the 13 major cities. From the year April 2010, and the entire country from the year April 2017.

In the year 2016, the government announced that the country would skip the Bharat Stage-V rules altogether. It should adopt the Bharat Stage-VI norms by the year 2020.

Downfall of Bharat Stage Norms

In a recent judgment, the Supreme Court banned the sale and registration of motor vehicles. Comply with rules, standards, or laws to Bharat Stage IV emission standard in the entire country from the year 1 April 2020.

On the year 15 November 2017, the Union petroleum ministry, in consultation with the public oil marketing companies. Decided to bring forward the date of Bharat Stage-VI grade auto fuels in the NCT of Delhi. With effect from the year 1 April 2018 and instead of the year 1 April 2020.

In fact, the ministry asked OMCs to examine if introducing Bharat Stage VI auto fuels in the whole of the NCR area. From the year 1 April, 2019 was possible. The step was taken due to the problem of air pollution that was faced by Delhi.

It became worse around the year 2019. The decision was met with a state of disorganization by the automobile companies. As they had planned their production according to the year 2020 road map.

The phasing out of the 2-stroke engine for the two-wheelers. The fact of production of the Maruti 800. The introduction of electronic controls has also been due to the regulations related to vehicular emissions.

So, this is the important information on the topic of What Are BS-VI Norms? Types & its downfall. Here I have briefly explained the norms of Bharat Stages, its types & its downfall.

If any Queries or Questions is persisting then, please feel free to comment on the viewpoints.

Also Read:

  • Senior citizens forced to wait for hours to get vaccinated
  • GST compensation: Centre yet to clear ₹3,298.53 crore
  • Juvenile arrested for rape
  • 6 States continue to see rise in daily COVID-19 cases: Health Ministry
  • Priyanka Gandhi slams Aditya Nath govt over law and order situation in Uttar Pradesh