Home News Big Bash League 2019-2020 – Everything you need to know

Big Bash League 2019-2020 – Everything you need to know


Last updated on January 16th, 2023 at 05:44 pm

Big Bash League 2019-2020 – Everything you need to know: Less than a month before the Big Bash League starts. The tournament is scheduled from 17 December 2019 and concludes on 8 February 2020 in Australia.

This has been a good year for Australian cricket, since they won the Ashes Urn Trophy and got to the World Cup semi-final. Two players has been particularly significant to reach these goals, Steve Smith and David Warner.

Big Bash League 2019-2020 – Everything you need to know

Now it’s BBL 2019’s turn.

This will be the nineth season of the professional men’s Twenty20 domestic cricket competition. Compared to that of the last year, this season qill be shorter, because the number of the matches has been increased from 59 to 61.

Here are all the informations you need to know before the game starts.

The Squads

Eight squads will take to field and try to get the trophy:

  • Adelaide Strikers
  • Brisbane Heat
  • Hobart Hurricanes  
  • Melbourne Renegades 
  • Melbourne Stars
  • Perth Scorchers
  • Sydney Sixers
  • Sydney Thunder

Melbourne Renegades won the competition last year. They defeated Melbourne Stars in the final at Docklands (Melbourne) by 13 ruins. Let’s see if they will succeed in the enterprise this year too. 

Each team squad will have a total of 18 members and can have a maximum of two ovearseas players in the squad. 

The first match will take place on December 17th at the Gabba, in Brisbane and will feature the clash between Brisbane Heat and Sydney Thunder. This last one seems to be the favorite to win the match, according to Big Bash betting tips. There will be many games and many predictions to them, as this year’s league will be very competetive and difficult to win. 

Latest signings

Some squads are not complete yet. Here are the latest signings:

  • South African player David Miller has signed with the Hobart Hurricanes
  • Due to family reasons, Ben Laughlin goes from Sydney Strikers to Brisbane Heat
  • Sydney Sixers has gained superstar player Steve Smith. Considering Smith’s recent achievements in the Ashes Series, this is a very good shot for the Sixers.
  • Batsman Nick Larkin and spinner Tom O’Connel are confirmed for the Melbourne Stars
  • Sydney Thunder got the young gun Tanveer Sangha, who is only 17. Former Test-cricketer-turned-commentator Kerry O’Keeffe said that Sangha is the best spinner in club cricket and that he is a real deal for Thunder
  • Among International players, English Liam Livingstone has signed with the Perth Scorchers

New rules

This year there will be some changes in the game system and some new rules. Let’s see them briefly:

  • If Super Overs are tied, there will be unlimited Super Overs
  • The playoff matches have been renamed and called The Eliminator, The Qualifier, The Knock-Out, The Challenger and The Final
  • Last but not least, all the knock-out phase of the tournament has been turned into a play-off system where the two teams which are in the first position of the league table can have a second chance to get the final, even if they lose the first match in the play-offs. In this way even the 5th placed team will be considered for the play-off stage.
Previous article3 Tips on Getting into Real Estate Investment
Next articleLeadership Lessons from Today’s Most Successful Entrepreneurs
Ritika Bala
Ritika Bala is the Chief editor at Bollywood and news. She writes about Entertainment, Youth related topics, especially on Movie Reviews and Box Office Collections. She mainly focuses on the quality of the articles being written and published in the site. She always keep in touch with all the latest updates on internet world changes that are happening each and every day in our world thanks to the increase of usage of the advanced modern technology.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here